About PARDeS:


PARDeS has a growing roster of members including professional and lay educators, parents and many other committed Reform Jews. Our goals:

  • Development of the full potential of the person-intellectual, emotional, social, spiritual and creative-blending the best of our Jewish and American heritage
  • A personal view of the covenantal relationship between God and the Jewish people
  • Ethical and moral values inherited from biblical and rabbinic sources
  • A commitment to practice and observe the ceremonies and ethical mitzvot of Reform Judaism
  • An appreciation of the historic kinship between the Jewish people and the land of Israel
  • Love and respect for the Hebrew language, a knowledge of prayer and our sacred writings, as well as the ability to speak and read the living language of modern Israel
  • An understanding of the Reform Jewish perspective
  • Excellence in both General and Judaic Studies
  • Leadership qualities to serve both the Jewish community and the secular world
  • A sense of responsibility for one's actions in academic performance and daily behavior

Mission Statement:

PARDeS is the international day school affiliate of the Union for Reform Judaism (URJ) that fosters Jewish identity, literacy, and the commitment to a life-long covenant with the heritage of Judaism through the advancement of excellent Jewish and secular education in Reform Day Schools.

PARDeS promotes knowledge sharing and collaboration among member schools and their professional and lay leaders; encourages and supports leaders of emerging schools; represents Reform Jewish day school education in joint ventures with Jewish organizations within and beyond the Reform movement; and fosters greater understanding of the impact of a high quality Jewish Day School education for the advancement of Reform Judaism.



PARDeS BOARD 2008-2009
EXECUTIVE BOARD

PRESIDENT
David Prashker
18801 NE 22nd Avenue
North Miami Beach, FL 33180
Ph 305-932-9011
email - david.prashker@tsnd.org
Affiliation: Jacobson Sinai Academy
Head of School

CHAIR
Jan Epstein
750 Park Avenue, N.E., Unit 14 north
Atlanta, GA 30326
home - 404-261-1513
e-mail - bubbej@bellsouth.net
affiliation - The Davis Academy
Founder / Board member

VICE PRESIDENT
Nadine Breuer
11661 West Olympic Blvd
Los Angeles, CA 90064
Ph 310-445-1280 x110
e-mail nbb@wbtla.org
Affiliation: Brawerman Elementary School of Wilshire Boulevard Temple
Principal

SECRETARY
Aimee Adashek
14 Wyndam Court
Lutherville, MD 21093
410-561-9812
e-mail aadashek@comcast.net
Affiliation: The Day School at Balltimore Hebrew
Board of Trustees and Past President

IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT
Nancy Pryzant Picus
5600 N. Braeswood
Houston, TX 77096
281-220-8609
npicus@shlenker.org
Affiliation: The Shlenker School
Director of Jewish Learning

IMMEDIATE PAST CHAIR:
Allan T. Hirsh III
7903 Ivy Lane
Baltimore, MD 21208
410-486-3719
email - allan3@hsinet.com
Affiliation: The Day School at Baltimore Hebrew
School Board, Temple Board, URJ Board Member

VICE PRESIDENT
William D. Norman
400 Poydras St. #2050
New Orleans, LA 70130
Ph 504-525-0815
e-mail - wdnorman@aol.com
Affiliation: Touro Synagogue
URJ Board Member, Temple Board Member

TREASURER
Martin Jannol
10350 Santa Monica Blvd., #350
Los Angeles, CA 90025
Ph 310-277-5504
e-mail - mjannol@mailorder.com
Affiliation: Brawerman Elementary of Wilshire Boulevard Temple
URJ Board Member


BOARD MEMBERS

Serving through 2011

Dr. Matthew King
15 Walnut Park
Newton, MA 02458
617-969-4444
e-mail - mking@rashi.org
Affiliation: The Rashi School
Head of School

Deborah Litwak
2110 NE 211 Terrace
Miami, FL 33179
305-932-2935
e-mail - litw2935@bellsouth.net
Affiliation: Jacobson Sinai Academy
School Board Member

Bini Silver
1935 W. Cornwallis Rd.
Durham, NC 27705
Ph 919-286-5517
e-mail - bini@lernerschool.org
Affiliation: The Lerner School
Head of School


Serving through 2012

Rabbi Micah Lapidus
8105 Roberts Drive
Atlanta, GA 30350
770-671-0085
e-mail - mlapidus@davisacademy.org
Affiliation: The Davis Academy
Director of Judaic and Hebrew Studies

Jill Kessler
3916 East Paradise Lane
Phoenix, Arizona 85032
480-991-9141
e-mail - jkessler@pardesschool.org
Affiliation: The Pardes Jewish Day School
Head of School

Ricki Komiss
5600 N. Braeswood
Houston, TX 77096
713-270-6127
e-mail - rkomiss@shlenker.org
Affiliation: The Shlenker School
Head of School


Serving through 2013

Alison L. Kur
10 Bethel Rd.
Wellesley Hills, MA 02481-3595
e-mail - akur@bethelohim-wellesley.org
Affiliation: The Rashi School

Fanny Levy
12326 Riverside Drive
Valley Village, CA 91607
818-763-9148
e-mail - flevy@tbhla.org
Affiliation: Beth Hillel Day School
Head of School

Eric Petersiel
36 Atkinson Avenue
Thornhillo, Ontario
L4J 8C9
905-709-3636
e-mail - epetersiel@leobaeck.ca
Affiliation: Leo Baeck Day School
Head of School

EX OFFICIO: Lead Specialist, URJ:
Rabbi Jan Katzew
633 3rd Avenue, 7th floor
New York, New York 10017
Ph 212-650-4150
e-mail - jkatzew@urj.org


EX OFFICIO: President, URJ
Rabbi Eric Yoffie
633 3rd Avenue, 7th floor
New York, New York 10017
Ph 212-650-4150
e-mail - jbowdish@urj.org (Jean Bowdish, assistant)

EX OFFICIO: Chair, URJ:
Peter Weidhorn
633 3rd Avenue, 7th floor
New York, New York 10017
Ph at URJ: 212-650-4150
e-mail - jbowdish@urj.org (Jean Bowdish, assistant)

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR:
Dr. Jane West Walsh/PARDeS
c/o BHC
7401 Park Heights Avenue
Baltimore, MD 21208
Cell Ph 410-350-6962
jwalsh@urj.org
janewestwalsh@gmail.com
www.pardesdayschools.org

Copyright 2014 Progressive Association of Reform Day Schools
Site created by AnswerMan Consulting. Design by Red Graphite.